Goodbye, 2015.

635845200979031950-1693487873_2016yay

I’m about to get super cheesy for a second, it’s the end of the year and what a year it’s been! Done being cheesy.

Now I’ll be real. 2015…you were…a bitch. I’m including the last two months of 2014 in this, so for about 7 months you seriously were a royal jerk. I can’t be made at you about it, it was the result of decisions and choices that were made that proved to be challenges. I won’t even call them set backs either, but I’ll refer to them as “lessons”. They were difficult lessons, definitely not anything that school prepared me for or that my parents could warn you about because I had no idea that I would react to them in the manner that I did. I discovered that I have some anxieties, and they were pretty severe. To the point if I was triggered I was in tears, I couldn’t focus, I just wanted to fix it, right then and there. These were things I couldn’t just fix. They weren’t things that anybody could snap their fingers and magically make better. They were the kinds of things that you either decided to man up and get through it, or let them swallow you whole. I teetered between get swallowed and getting through them a couple of times. I had some great supporters that helped me, I consulted God in prayer, A LOT. I read my Bible, A LOT. I cried a ton and I consulted my parents many, many times. When I FINALLY felt peace in my heart and that I was handling things to the best of my ability and giving the rest to God, life started to change. It changed a LOT.

It all started when I had subconsciously realized that I was tired of what I was doing for work. I knew it in my heart a while back, but I was really feeling a tug to get away from it. I honestly didn’t do a whole lot with that nudge at first but I figured I’d pay more attention to the LinkedIn job postings and see what was even out there. I stumbled across a job posting, it was in Temecula. It was in marketing. It was for an education company. Rewind…anybody that knew me while in middle/high school knows I wanted to be a teacher…back to present time, I was pretty excited about it. I decided to apply online and I honestly forgot about the application. I got an email 10-14 days later from the manager that was hiring for the position and I was surprised. They asked if I could come in later that week and I said, absolutely! I had no idea what to expect. I had been out of a Marketing type position for awhile. I still helped with little things at the job I was at and was the main person writing responses and content for my particular department, but I wasn’t marketing focused at all. I felt pretty darn welcomed the second I walked into the office for my interview and wasn’t nervous (a first!). I think my interview was a grand total of 45 minutes or so. I thought it went great and I got along with both of the people interviewing me and I was ready to wait and see what the next step was. Either a second interview or maybe a job offer, but I felt pretty confident about it. Maybe 3 hours later I got a phone call…and a job offer. I was elated. Did I mention Anthony and I were also notified that the offer on our house went through? It went through that morning…no joke. 2 good things in a day you had to be kidding me right? I cried for like 30 minutes because I couldn’t of dreamed that this is where I was going to be in July 2015 after the ridiclousness that was November 2014-June 2015. I had NO clue what I did to deserve multiple blessings in a day. Prayers again…because God knew how far down the rabbit hole I had been.

We got to move into our home the second week of September! There was a little bit of trouble before move in…the previous owner’s movers broke a water line that caused a flood in our kitchen and dining room. OOPS. She refused to pay for it too…thank goodness for home insurance and our amazing realtor for helping us through it. We were a little mad but got over it quickly because we are going to replace the floors and it could of been a whole heck of a lot worse. We’ve been DIY-ing the crap out of our house ever since and it’s coming together so well. Please refer to my Instagram (reinforces) for the professional decorating skills of my husband. Yes, he’s better at decorating than I am and I don’t care who knows it.

The last two months of this year I think I’ve cried more in tears of thankfulness and in awe of what life is than I have collectively in my entire life. The littlest things set me off. Worship music. Messages at church. Memories. Moments. Looking at my husband. Looking at my dog. Looking at my house. Looking at my job. My car. My health. My parents (You both have been an incredible example of grace. Understanding. Love. Being present. Being role models. Being our stronghold. You’re the greatest parents). My brother. My mother in-law & father in-law (Which we wouldn’t of been able to buy our home if it wasn’t for the two of them. I don’t think I could ever repay the two of you for everything you’ve done for Anthony and I. EVERYTHING you’ve done has taught us lessons, made us grow, helped us grow. I literally can’t say thank you enough and let you both know how much I love you. I’ve got the world’s greatest in-laws). My brother-in-laws. I’m thankful for everything above and everything in between. I’ve never looked at everything around me and felt more blessed.

2016…I won’t say “new year, new me” because it’s not true. Trying to be a new you shouldn’t ever be the goal. Be a BETTER you. Grow in being YOU. This is the vessel you were given, love it, cherish it, nourish it. I hope that 2016 brings great promise and opportunity to all.

A couple of things that I want to do is read more, watch less TV. Get out more and enjoy the outdoors. LOVE all and let go of old negativity. I hope I get the chance to maintain friendships, grow them, and heal old ones.

Happy New Year, everybody!

Leave a Reply

