August Baby Pt. 2: Words from The Father

What’s up everybody!! As you can tell by the title this is Erin’s husband/Kennedy’s father! Many of you who read this amazing blog already know me but for those of you who don’t I have a name. And that name is (dramatic pause) Anthony. So anti-climactic I know. Feel free to roll your eyes at this point I am a wee bit, a tad if you will, eccentric. But enough about me and more about Kennedy and how she came to be… Through my frames. 

Dear sweet Kennedy was born on Friday August 26th at 8:35 am. She was 7lbs 12 oz, which is freaking huge when you consider she was 3 WEEKS EARLY 😲you might be thinking to yourself, “how nice that she was born on a Friday morning, Erin must’ve gone into labor late Thursday or early Friday.” To quote Lee Corso, “Not so fast my friend!” Had it unfolded that way it would’ve been perfect because of my work schedule. I won’t get into detail about what I do (if you really want to know just ask me playa) but I work over nights on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Again, baby was born Friday… Erin went into labor on Wednesday night 😫 I was at work 😫😫 There I was working away, side bar my route takes me out to Santa Barbara, so I’m only 200 miles from Temecula a quick saunter for a commercial jet 🙃 Anyway, there I was working away when right around 10:30 pm I get a phone call. “Hi wife, I say cheerfully, you going to bed?!” Not even thinking that it’s not the norm for her to call me in the middle of my shift at that hour. She said, in a nutshell “Husbie, my brother is on his way here, I think my water may have broke, I’m going to see what he thinks I should do. I’m not having contractions yet, but I don’t want to take any chances.” “Woah” I said. “This is exciting love, but just relax, you’re not having contractions yet so I have time to finish up, I’m already halfway done, unless you want me to come home now? How about this, call me when you know something from the hospital and we will decide from there.” We said our I love yous and that was that!! HOLY CRAP IM GONNA BE A DADDY. It may come as a surprise but all I have ever wanted is to be a good husband and a good father. I don’t know where it came from but it’s been my dream for as far back as I can remember. Sure I had hoop dreams but I always thought “I don’t care what I do, I just want to be a husband and a father!” The other half of that dream was finally coming true. 

I got another call from Erin around 11:30, again Wednesday night. She would be admitted and would not be going home. Still no contractions. We decided it would be okay for me to finish up and make the journey home from Santa Barbara. For reference I don’t normally get back to Temecula until around 6-7am… I got back to my depot at 4am… I was at Erin’s bedside at 4:07 🏃🏻💨💨 I wasn’t nervous, I was eager, eager to be a dad, eager to see my wife and eager to assist her in whatever way I could. 

It really sucks as a husband seeing your wife in pain and there is basically nothing you can do. I rubbed her feet, stroked her forehead and just sat near her, helpless. Thursday goes by. After hours of pitocin, some insert thing and some other medicine, nothing, no contractions, no dilation. KENNEDY WHAT ARE YOU DOING Please come out so daddy can finally hold you! Friday morning, we lookin n feeling a hot mess, especially my poor wife who had not eaten since Thursday morning and could not get out of bed for anything. Not to shower not to potty nada 😠 HELP HER!!! I kept my cool for her but I wanted to shake every nurse and Doctor I saw because it killed me to see her so miserable. Right around 7:45-8 am Friday morning Dr. Jones                         ( DoctaJones, read like the Asian boy from Indiana Jones) walks in and says “nothing’s working, how bout a c-section?” Before she and my in-laws left the room I already made up my mind, YES!!! The wife agreed, c section it is. she did all she could and we didn’t  want to push (or not push 😏) it anymore because if she got an infection, baby and I would be transported elsewhere and Erin would be leftbehind… Bump that doc, we want the cesarean! 

This is about the time I ascended into Dad mode. I was stoic, the wife needed me to be. I was ushered into the OR, about 15 minutes after her. She was nekket and numb. She puked, I normally have a weak stomach, not today! I grabbed a towel and was catching it. Baby is out, I’m weeping. I cut the cord and put her first diaper on. Erin was bed ridden for the next 24 hours. I got poop on my hand twice, didn’t even flinch! I was, and still am, dadding so hard! Kennedy has changed me!!

Since then we have laughed, cried, had moments of frustration and been so full of love and joy over our lil Kenny Bean. She is perfect, my wife it the toughest human on the planet and I get to be part of their lives. “Why am I so lucky?” I ask myself that everyday. I love my girls, and because of them I am complete. ❤️

One thought on “August Baby Pt. 2: Words from The Father

Leave a Reply

